Charlotte Slip and Fall Attorney A fall caused by an unsafe condition on a property can amount to thousands of dollars in medical bills, prevent the victim from working, and leave permanent pains and limitations.
If a property owner has neglected his or her responsibility and caused you to slip and fall, do not hesitate to contact The Nye Law Group’s Charlotte slip and fall attorneys. We always provide a free initial consultation and will not charge you any fees unless we help you receive compensation. Our attorneys are dedicated to fighting for the rights of personal injury victims and devoted to helping clients receive the outcome they deserve.
Call 855-856-4212 if you were injured on another’s property.
Duty of Care for Property Owners in North Carolina
The responsibility to ensure that a property or establishment is safe and free of any dangerous conditions falls upon the property’s owner. If a dangerous condition forms on a property, the owner must correct the hazard within a reasonable amount of time after discovering the hazard.
North Carolina’s premises liability law establishes the standards of care that a property owner owes to those visiting his or her residence or establishment based on the visitor’s purpose. A visitor can be defined as:
- Invitee: An individual who enters another’s property for a commercial reason or one that mutually benefits both the invitee and the property owner, such as a customer at a restaurant. A property owner owes an invitee a duty to keep his or her property reasonably safe and warn of any hidden hazards or unsafe conditions.
- Licensee: An individual who has been invited to a property for the owner’s purposes, such as a friend, family member or guest. A licensee enters a property at his or her own risk. The standard of care that a property owner owes a licensee extends to refraining from willfully or wantonly exposing the individual to danger.
- Trespasser: An individual who unlawfully enters another’s property without permission. The property’s owner can only be held liable for an accident if he or she maliciously or wantonly injured a trespasser.
A property owner must abide by these levels of care extended to each type of visitor. If a visitor is harmed after coming into contact with an unsafe condition created by the property owner or formed by his or her negligence may have a viable slip and fall claim. A qualified Charlotte slip and fall attorney will be able to identify the duty of care that a property owner owed you and how that duty was breached based on the conditions surrounding the accident.
Call 855-856-4212 if you have been injured on another’s property.
What our Attorneys Can Do For You
The Charlotte slip and fall attorneys at The Nye Law Group have helped past clients receive millions in verdicts and settlements in previous slip and fall cases, including two separate cases involving slip and fall accidents at local restaurants:
- $700,000 settlement
- $160,000 settlement
Our Charlotte slip and fall attorneys will work diligently in constructing your claim by collecting evidence and proof that provides the support needed to form a viable case. Our attorneys will:
- Investigate the cause of the slip and fall accident to determine if it was a dangerous condition the property owner had reasonable time to correct. • Gather evidence that helps support your claim. We will collect any photographs and videos of the accident and the conditions in which the accident occurred.
- Research the property owner and establishment where the accident occurred for any past claims.
- Document any proof that the injury you or your loved one sustained after a slip and fall accident was directly caused by a dangerous condition created by the property owner’s negligence.
Slip and fall cases require an attorney who can work quickly to identify the cause of a slip and fall accident, as well as understand the complexities of North Carolina’s premises liability law.
You need a Charlotte slip and fall attorney who is not afraid to pursue any legal means necessary to help you receive compensation. We will provide you with a level of dedication and experience that exemplifies quality legal assistance.
Contact us for a free consultation to learn more about how we can help.
Injuries Caused by Slip and Fall Accidents
Slip and fall accidents are dangerous and can cause serious harm to the victim, leaving him or her with permanent, painful injuries. These injuries can include:
- Broken bones
- Head injuries
- Traumatic brain injuries
- Spinal cord injuries
- Cuts and abrasions
- Neck injuries
Our attorneys are qualified to handle several forms of claims where a victim fell and made severe contact with a hard surface:
- Slip and fall: You fell after walking over a wet or slick surface
- Trip and fall: A hazardous obstacle or debris in your path caused you to fall
- Step and fall: An unexpected hole or dangerous condition caused you to fall after stepping
A slip and fall injury can have long-lasting repercussions that may prevent a victim from earning an income or socializing with loved ones and acquaintances and could reduce his or her quality of life.
If you or a loved one has suffered a serious injury after falling on poorly maintained surface, our Charlotte slip and fall attorneys can help connect you with medical assistance that may provide crucial support and recovery.
The Charlotte offices of The Nye Law Group are located within three miles of Mecklenburg County’s major medical institutions, such as the Carolinas Medical Center,Novant Health Presbyterian Medical Center, and the Carolinas HealthCare System University.
We strive to protect the rights of personal injury victims and will devote our time and resources to help you receive compensation needed for recovery.
Fill out a Free Case Evaluation form to start filing your claim today.
Do I Have a Slip and Fall Case?
Any personal injury can amount to unforeseen costs that accumulate from medical bills, inability to work resulting in lost wages, and damages related to pain and suffering caused by the accident. Receiving compensation for an accident caused by another’s negligence can help appease the suffering and inconvenience the at-fault party caused.
In order to determine if you have a case, several factors must be proven. These include:
- The property owner or his or her employees should have known about the dangerous condition and corrected it as a reasonable person in a similar position would have.
- The property owner or his or her employees knew about the dangerous condition but neglected to repair or fix it.
- The property owner or his or her employee caused the dangerous condition or allowed it to form due to neglect.
Proving negligence in a slip and fall accident can be difficult because it requires that the property owner should have known about the condition. You will need to collect sufficient evidence that proves this claim, which will then be left to the court and jury to decide if the property owner should have known about the unsafe condition that caused you or your loved one to fall.
Reasonable standards that can be used to determine a property owner’s liability include:
- How long had the unsafe condition been present before the accident?
- What kind of maintenance or cleaning did the property owner engage in regularly that would have prevented the condition from forming?
- If an unsafe condition existed, did the property owner provide any warning sign or barrier to protect the public from the hazard?
- If the condition that caused the accident was an object that once served a purpose and had a reason for being in its location, did it serve that same purpose during the time of the accident?
In North Carolina, the right to pursue compensation in personal injury lawsuits is determined by the rule of “contributory negligence.” Under this rule, the court can prevent the plaintiff from seeking damages from the defendant if the plaintiff displayed any level of negligence that contributed to causing the accident. If it is found that you were partially responsible for causing your injuries, you will not be able to recover any compensation.
How Long Do I Have to File a Claim?
North Carolina’s statute of limitations for personal injury law states that you must file a claim within three years of when the accident occurred or when you first discovered the injury. If you are attempting to file a claim after a slip and fall accident that occurred outside of this timeframe, you will not be able to seek compensation.
It is important to not hesitate and seek legal help immediately after you have been in a slip and fall accident. Contact our Charlotte slip and fall attorneys to discuss if you are entitled compensation.
Call 855-856-4212 to speak with an attorney about seeking compensation.
Contact our Charlotte Slip and Fall Attorneys
Slip and fall accidents require a dedicated and experienced attorney who has an in-depth understanding of North Carolina’s premises liability and personal injury laws.
The Nye Law Group’s Charlotte slip and fall attorneys are qualified to handle your claim and will work to help you or your loved one receive compensation and justice.
To schedule a free, no obligation with our attorneys, call 855-856-4212.