It’s important to understand how car insurance works in every state, because you never know when you may be driving through. If you’re thinking about moving to North Carolina, it can also be helpful to understand North Carolina’s insurance coverage requirements and be aware of liability laws in case you ever get in a wreck. Current NC residents can also benefit from this knowledge, too, of course.
In the event that you’ve already experienced a vehicle wreck in North Carolina, our attorneys at The Nye Law Group can assist you in understanding your options. We’ll investigate your case, assess your damages, and determine who’s at fault before helping you file a lawsuit, if necessary. Hopefully, you’ll be able to walk away from your accident with more clarity.
NC Liability Car Insurance Requirements
In the state of North Carolina, all drivers are required to hold a minimum amount of liability coverage insurance. This coverage will pay for any damages in the event that a driver causes an accident. However, North Carolina works on a fault-based insurance system, which means they don’t require drivers to hold personal injury protection insurance.
This liability coverage insurance only covers other drivers and property in the accidents a driver causes, not personal injuries. The minimum requirements include:
- $30,000 for bodily injury per person injured in an accident
- $60,000 for total bodily injury liability when two or more people are injured in an accident
- $25,000 for property damage per accident
More coverage can be purchased for bodily injuries and property damages, and additional personal injury protection can also be purchased; however, personal injury protection isn’t required in North Carolina as it is in some states.
Contact a Charlotte Car Accident Attorney
Whether you’re moving to North Carolina, driving through, or you already live here and need help with an accident you’ve experienced, The Nye Law Group can be of service in getting you the information you need. Our lawyers have a deep understanding of the state’s insurance policies. We’ll make sure you’re covered for the future or compensated for past injuries.
To speak with a Charlotte car accident lawyer, you can schedule a no-obligation consultation by filling out the contact form below or by calling 704-285-6319.