What to Know About Criminal Defense in South Carolina

If you find yourself under accusation or under suspicion of having committed a crime in the state of South Carolina, you are going to need a lawyer to help you through this process. Criminal defense is a delicate matter, and there are certain precautions that you must take during this time in order to prevent self-incrimination. Getting in contact with a lawyer will ensure that you are aware of your legal rights while your case is under investigation.

Our team of lawyers is well-versed in South Carolina Law and can provide the strongest defense possible for you. Our criminal defense lawyers will conduct a thorough investigation into the events of your case in order to decide what the best course of action for you is.

Understanding Your Rights in a South Carolina Case

According to the United States’ Constitution, every individual has the right to a fair trial. During this trial, you are considered innocent until proven guilty. It is during this time that our lawyers will exercise their knowledge of the workings What to Know About Criminal Defense in South Carolinaof South Carolina courtrooms to create the best possible outcome for you, whether that means dropped charges or a lighter sentence.

The lawyers at the Nye Law Group are capable of handling all types of cases, from minor misdemeanors to more serious crimes like possession of weapons and fraud.

Crimes in South Carolina fall into two categories, misdemeanors and felonies, and the legal matters around these two crimes vary greatly.

Misdemeanors in South Carolina

Misdemeanors are less serious types of crimes with less severe punishments. Below are some examples of misdemeanors in the state of South Carolina:

  • Vandalism
  • Disturbing religious worship
  • Sending messages or communication with someone without that person’s consent
  • Disturbing the peace
  • Possession of illegal drugs

There are three classes of misdemeanors in South Carolina: Class A, Class B, Class C. These crimes vary in severity.

Class A: Punishable by up to three years in prison.

Class B: Punishable by up to two years in prison.

Class C: Punishable by up to one years in prison.

Felonies in South Carolina

Felonies are more serious crimes with severe penalties. Some examples of felonies are:

  • Kidnapping
  • Voluntary manslaughter
  • Arson
  • Carjacking
  • Attempted murder
  • Attempted armed robbery
  • Causing harm to a child

Felonies are broken down into Class A, Class B, Class C, Class D, Class E, and Class F offenses.

Class A: Punishable by up to 30 years in prison.

Class B: Punishable by up to 25 years in prison.

Class C: Punishable by up to 20 years in prison.

Class D: Punishable by up to 15 years in prison.

Class E: Punishable by up to 10 years in prison.

Class F: Punishable by up to 5 years in prison.

South Carolina Criminal Defense Lawyers

If you are under investigation for having committed a crime or if you are under suspicion of having committed a crime, you have the legal right to an attorney. Our lawyers have the capability to create the strongest case possible for you. Allow us at The Nye Law Group the provide you with the legal guidance that you need during this time. Contact us at (912) 200-5230 to learn more about the options that are available to you.

Filing a Dog Bite Claim in North Carolina

Dog owners have a responsibility to keep their pet under control while in public and pedestrians also have a right to feel safe in places that allow dogs. If you are the victim of a dog bite in North Carolina, you may have grounds for receiving compensation.

Filing a Dog Bite Claim in North CarolinaIn the event of a dog bite, the first thing that you should do after receiving medical care is to contact an attorney who is experienced in dog bite cases. Our team of lawyers at Nye Law Group have a thorough understanding of North Carolina’s laws and can conduct an investigation into your particular situation in order to determine what course of action is best for you and your North Carolina dog bite case.

Filing a Dog Bite Claim in North Carolina

The laws concerning dog bites in Section 67 of the North Carolina General Statutes  state that the owner is responsible for the event in cases where the following are true:

  • The dog caused an injury to an individual or caused damage to the property of an individual.
  • North Carolina law defines the dog as a “dangerous dog.”

A “dangerous dog” is one that has inflicted an injury or death on a person without provocation in the past, is brought up as a dog intended for dog fighting, or has a record of being labeled by authorities as a “potentially dangerous dog.”

A dog that is considered a “potentially dangerous dog” is one that has a previous history of biting people, attacking other animals, or acting in a threatening manner.

North Carolina’s Statute of Limitations

There is a specific time frame in which you must file a dog bite claim. The statute of limitations for these types of cases is three years in North Carolina. This means that you have three years from the time of the dog bite to file your case. It is highly unlikely that your case will make it to court if you file once this time period is up, and cases become harder to win the longer you wait.

“Strict Liability” in North Carolina Dog Bite Cases

North Carolina applies “strict liability” to all dog bite cases, meaning that the dog’s owner is liable regardless of whether or not the event was the owner’s fault. Even if the owner attempted to prevent the dog from causing harm to anyone, if the dog manages to injure someone, the owner is considered responsible

The dog owner can face criminal penalties in the following cases:

  • If the owner leaves his or her dog unattended.
  • If the owner lets his or her dog walk without a leash.
  • If the owner lets another person buy or adopt his or her dog without providing a written warning of the dog’s menacing behavior.

North Carolina Dog Bite Lawyers

If you were bitten by a dog, you have the option of taking legal action. The best way to go about doing so is by getting in contact with a lawyer who is well-versed in North Carolina law. Our team of attorney at The Nye Law Group has the knowledge and the resources necessary to build the strongest case possible. Allow us to guide you through this process. Call us at (912) 200-5230 for further information about the options that are available to you.

Filing a Nursing Home Abuse Claim in Georgia

It is an unfortunate reality that some senior citizens placed in the care of a nursing home in Georgia fall victim to abuse. These elder individuals have a right to expect that their safety and well-being are the number one priority in these institutions. If you or a loved one is suffering from or has suffered in the past from nursing home abuse, it is crucial that you report this case. People who work in nursing homes have a great deal of power over the lives of those in their care, and it is important that they are held responsible for their actions. If you suspect abuse, the nursing home abuse lawyers at Nye Law Group can help.

Warning Signs of Nursing Home Abuse

Caretakers in Georgia’s nursing homes have a great deal of access to the private lives of the residents. Unfortunately, this creates ample opportunity for abuse. The presence of these signs may signify that nursing home abuse is taking place.

  • Frequent falls
  • Bed sores
  • Malnutrition or dehydration
  • Urinary tract infections (UTIs)
  • Broken or fractured bones
  • Isolation
  • Changes in behavior
  • Changes in mental or emotional state

 

Nursing homes are required under federal and state laws to provide care while keeping the residents’ best interests in mind. The residents in these care homes have rights that are protected by law. If a caretaker acts in a negligent manner, either intentionally or unintentionally, and causes harm to a resident, a case can be filed with both state and federal agencies.

Filing a Nursing Home Abuse Claim in GeorgiaThe state of Georgia has its own Bill of Rights for Residents of Long-Term Care Facilities. Under this bill, the rights that a resident in a nursing home can expect are thoroughly outlined. Despite this bill, abuse still occurs and too many loved ones suffer as a result.

In cases of nursing home abuse, the best thing to do is to get in contact with a lawyer. Taking legal action can prove complicated and overwhelming, and a lawyer can help you navigate the proceedings. Our team of attorneys is well-versed in Georgia’s laws surrounding nursing home abuse cases. They have the knowledge and the skill to investigate the specific events in your case to determine what step you should take next.

Filing a Nursing Home Abuse Claim

The first step is to file a verbal or written complaint with the nursing home. This can be done by the victim or by the victim’s loved ones. If the nursing home administrators do not adequately address the issue within three days, then the complaint can be filed with the state ombudsman, a person whose job it is to deal with these types of cases. If a solution is still not reached, the victim is granted a hearing. The nursing home has 72 hours after the resolution of the hearing to fix the problem.

Georgia Nursing Home Abuse Lawyer

If you or a loved one has suffered from nursing home abuse, you may be eligible for receiving compensation. At the Nye Law Group, we know how difficult these situations are. Allow us to provide you with the assistance and resources that you need in building a strong court case. Contact us at (912) 200-5230 to find out more about your options.

The Basics of Product Liability Claims in South Carolina

If you received an injury that was caused by your use of a defective product, you may have grounds for a product liability lawsuit. In order to file a product liability case in the state of South Carolina, you are required to provide evidence of two things. One is that the product was defective when you purchased it. The other is that your injury was the direct result of the product’s defect. The best way to go about proving this is to get in contact with an attorney who is well-versed in these types of cases. Our team of attorneys can help you in collecting the evidence necessary to demonstrate that your injury was in fact caused by a malfunction in the product.

If you have fallen victim to a defective product, you have legal rights. Allow us to assist you in getting the compensation that you deserve for the inconvenience that this event has caused in your life.

Types of Product Liability Cases

Details are a crucial part of a product liability lawsuit. In order to build a strong court case, it is important to be clear on the exact cause of the product’s malfunction. There are three possible ways that a product can be considered defective.

Design Defect

This occurs when the product is defective from the time of its manufacture. Even if the product is used in the manner for which it was intended, the improper design makes it dangerous.

Manufacturing Defect

The Basics of Product Liability Claims in South CarolinaThis happens when the design was done correctly, but poor manufacturing led to a hazardous defect. If a large number of products were manufactured at the same time, all of the products will be defective.

Failure to Warn Consumers

When using a product that is inherently dangerous by nature, such as chemicals or heavy machinery, consumers deserve to receive both directions on how to use the product properly and a warning about the specific risks that come with using that product. Failure to provide these things can constitute the basis for a product liability lawsuit.

Our expert attorneys will conduct a thorough investigation in order to determine which of these instances your cases falls under. The lawyers at The Nye Law Group have an understanding of product liability laws in South Carolina and are capable of building a strong case for you. The type of defect that your product has will determine whether the manufacturer or the seller is responsible for your injury. According to South Carolina law, anyone who sells a defective product can be held liable for damage caused to the user if certain conditions are met. Our lawyers know how to determine who the guilty party is in your case and can prove that party’s liability in a court of law.

If you or a loved one have sustained an injury due to a product malfunction, you deserve to receive compensation for your suffering. At The Nye Law Group, we understand that filing a lawsuit can be confusing and overwhelming, We have the resources and the expertise necessary to guide you through this time. Call us at (912) 200-5230 to learn more about your options.

 

Differentiating Between Misdemeanors and Felonies in North Carolina

If you are suspected of or have been accused of committing a crime, you need legal representation. Getting in contact with a lawyer who has a thorough understanding of North Carolina’s laws will help ensure that you are aware of your rights and that your case has the best possible outcome.

There are two types of crimes that an individual can be suspected of committing: misdemeanors and felonies.

  • A misdemeanor is the less serious of the two. This charge may result in up to one year in prison.
  • A felony has more severe consequences and can result in more than one year of prison time.

 

Types of Misdemeanors

Misdemeanors fall into 4 different categories that vary in level of severity.

Differentiating Between Misdemeanors and Felonies in North CarolinaClass 3 misdemeanors are the least serious out of all of them. If you are charged with this type of misdemeanor you can receive a sentence of up to 20 days in prison and a fine of up to $200.

Examples:

 

  • City code violations
  • Marijuana possession

Class 2 misdemeanors are punishable by up to 60 days in prison and a fine of up to $1000.

Examples:

 

  • Disorderly conduct
  • Assault
  • Carrying a concealed weapon
  • Resisting an officer

Class 1 misdemeanors are more serious than Class 3 and Class 2 misdemeanors. If you are charged with a Class 1 misdemeanor, you may face a prison sentence of up to 120 days, along with a fine.

Examples:

  • Larceny
  • Theft
  • Possession of drug paraphernalia
  • Property damage
  • Prostitution

Class A1 misdemeanors are the most serious of all and have the most severe punishment. If you are charged with this type of misdemeanor, you may face up to 150 days in prison along with a fine, the amount of which is up to the discretion of the court.

Examples:

  • Assault on a female
  • Assault on a government employee
  • Restraining order violation
  • Sexual Battery
  • Assault inflicting serious injury

 

Types of Felonies

Felonies are classified into 10 different categories: A, B1, B2, C, D, E, F, G, H, and I.

A Class I felony is the least serious type of felony. The maximum punishment is 24 months in prison. The most serious type of felony is a Class A felony. The maximum punishment is a sentence of life in prison or the death penalty

Examples of felonies:

  • Embezzlement
  • Involuntary manslaughter
  • Driving while impaired
  • Common-law robbery
  • Arson
  • Murder

In order to receive a guilty charge if your case goes to trial, your guilt must be proven beyond a reasonable doubt. This is why it is so important to have a skilled lawyer who has the necessary knowledge of the workings of North Carolina courtrooms. Our team of lawyers has the expertise necessary to investigate your situation and determine the best course of action for you.

If you are under trial for being suspected of committing or for having committed a crime, you have certain rights. Allow our team at The Nye Law Group to provide you with the legal guidance that you need. Contact us at (912) 200-5230 to learn more.

 

CONTACT US

NO PRESSURE. SPEAK TO AN ATTORNEY. NO HIDDEN FEES.

* All Fields Required

Or Call 855-856-4212

CONVENIENT LOCATIONS Throughout the SouthEast

Charlotte, NC

402 West Trade Street,
Suite 112
Charlotte, NC

704-862-4177 get directions

Savannah, GA

2008 Whitaker Street
Savannah, GA 31401

917-732-0249 get directions

Hinesville, GA

306 North Main Street,
Suite 1B
Hinesville, GA 31313

912-200-5233 get directions

Bluffton, SC

25 Clarks Summit Drive,
Suite 102
Bluffton, SC 29910

843-420-1555 get directions

Charlotte, NC

402 West Trade Street,
Suite 112
Charlotte, NC

704-862-4177 get directions

Savannah, GA

2008 Whitaker Street
Savannah, GA 31401

917-732-0249 get directions

Hinesville, GA

306 North Main Street,
Suite 1B
Hinesville, GA 31313

912-200-5233 get directions

Bluffton, SC

25 Clarks Summit Drive,
Suite 102
Bluffton, SC 29910

843-420-1555 get directions
View all locations
CONTACT US

NO PRESSURE. SPEAK TO AN ATTORNEY. NO HIDDEN FEES.

* All Fields Required

Or Call 855-856-4212